April 18, 2010

This past week I saw the orthopedic surgeon. He reviewed all of my imaging studies done in the last 4 months and decided that the numbness in my back might be nerve damage from chemo therapy, called neuropathy. I have that in my fingers and feet at times, but those started last spring during chemo. This began many months later. He was pretty much guessing as to what it could be and suggested physical therapy, which I will be starting this week. He said it can’t hurt and might help. He is recommending TNS.  Transcutaneous Electrical Nerve Stimulation, often known as a TENS or TNS machine, is a small portable machine that uses an electric current to provide pain relief.

We will re-evaluate in about 3 weeks. I have actually been so busy these last two weeks that I’ve been able to distract myself from the bothersome symptoms .  I’m not letting it keep me from walking a lot, preparing for the Avon Walk of 40 miles coming up in just 2 weeks!  Thanks to a grant from one of the chemo drug companies that treated me, my son Curtis received funds to complete his fund raising goal so that we can walk together. Thank you to all of you who supported the two of us in this milestone event!  I am walking on average about 3 miles a day. How I will ever work up to 20+ miles, I don’t know. I’m just doing what I can and trying to add a bit more each day. Spring weather here has been beautiful so I am just happy to be out and enjoying it!

(And as you can see here, my hair is growing a lot now and I  just had my 2nd haircut this week!)

Leave a Reply

