Gratitude

My gratitude journal

“Blessed are those that can give without remembering and receive without forgetting.” — Author Unknown

After the retreat I attended last week, I came home and made gratitude journals for myself and the women I roomed with at the lodge during our retreat. I had been reminded that a life lived in gratitude cannot be a depressed life. I was reminded that “God inhabits the praises of His people” – Psalms 22:3.

So with that, I have begin writing down a daily praise…a reflection of one of my life’s many blessings. The little journals I found contain 200 sheets which is more than enough to record a year’s worth of thoughts of thankfulness! I found them at the dollar store and simply printed out the words on sticker paper and there you have it!

My most recent entries included being thankful for :

1.) a warm house and a bed, 3 meals a day (I saw a homeless family living in the woods near my home)

2.) No more dripping nose from chemo (it took about 3 months for this to finally stop)

3.) The smell of baking brownies! Yum!

It doesn’t always have to be profound! Sometimes it can just be a happy thought.

Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights..” James 1:17

What are you thankful for today?  Write it down, share it with a friend. It will brighten their day and yours too!

One thought on “Gratitude

  1. I came home last night from work at 10:30pm to the smell of freshly baked brownies. I am grateful for the smell. Now, did he baked them for himself or for me… It doesn’t matter they are brownies for crying out loud.

Leave a Reply

