The end is near

Today is the nex035t to the last infusion I will have for my one year chemo therapy treatment. Yeah!  I am beginning to see the light at the end of this tunnel. This being a holiday week with Veteran’s day, I expect the wait to be long for a chair since they are sqeezing 5 days of patients into four.

I am feeling great (well, a bit sore from spin class) but I have more energy than ever and am working to get my heart function back to optimum levels.

I had a phone interview yesterday with the Network Of Strength organization. You can find them at www.NetworkOfStrength.org .  They “ensure, through information, empowerment and peer support, that no one faces breast cancer alone.” I am applying to become a peer support counselor for their national panel which fields phone calls 24/7, 365 days a year across the globe.  I will attend training for 2 days here in Washington DC the end of January.  It is an exciting opportunity for me to come along side other newly diagnosed breast cancer patients and help them navigate the rough waters of diagnosis, treatment and recovery.  When I, myself, contacted them a year ago I was paired with a woman 20 years older than me, not an ideal match since we were at very different places in our lives.  There is a great need for younger women as counselors to help the many hundreds of young women in their 30’s and 40’s who need a friend to talk to who has been in their shoes. I look forward to channeling my experiences into a positive tool to help other women.

My AVon Walk fund raising is coming along nicely! I am almost half way there! You can access my page at

MY AVON WALK and you can also access my son CURTIS’ PAGE <–here and read why he has joined in the effort as well!  He needs your support too!

2 thoughts on “The end is near

  1. Koryn,

    I just went on to Etsy to see if you were still selling the Mommy bracelets and saw your “one year cancer free” slogan. I was shocked. I ordered a couple of bracelets from you back in January and June 2008, obviously before your diagnosis. I am glad that all is going well in the one-year since your diagnosis, but am very sorry that you had to go through all of that. I’m glad to see that you are still selling the bracelets and have a positive outlook. My prayers are with you.

    Michele in Vienna, VA

Leave a Reply

