The Numbers Don’t Lie!

Sample07This week I had a MUGA scan of my heart. This is a nuclear scan of the heart. Muga stands for Multiple-Gated Acquisition, a 40 minute test where the radioactive tracer injected into my bloodstream is tracked and followed by a gamma camera as I lay on a table with electrodes stuck to me and a machine records all of the activity. I began getting muga scans before starting my chemo therapy in December.  Things looked fantastic then, as I scored a 69 and was told that 55 would be optimal. Then I had another scan in March showing slight decrease in heart function at a scoring result of 65.  In July that number had gone down to 62.  That’s when I began to worry that the remaining 5 months of therapy were going to do more damage, and I’d better to something to get my heart back into shape if I could. That’s when I joined the gym and for the last 6 weeks have been exercising rigorously 3 – 4 times a week.  Tuesday’s scan showed a slight improvement and came in at 64, the ejection fraction which is an indicator of heart function.  It is no wonder! I feel great and I feel strong and am not tired all the time like I was earlier in the summer.  I will have another scan when chemo finishes after Christmas. What will a full 3 months of spin classes and treadmill do for me!? I can’t wait to find out!

What causes breast cancer? <—

One thought on “The Numbers Don’t Lie!

Leave a Reply

