The Great Outdoors

LifeisgoodKAYAKING

Days like these are hard to come by! Sun shining, not humid (yet), warm but not hot, and nothing on the calendar…let’s go!  VA170Tim and I spent the afternoon out on the Occoquan River, kayaking and enjoying the peace and serenity of the outdoors, chasing blue heron birds, and just reflecting on where we are in life right now.  All is good and getting better!  We are always amazed that this little slice of Heaven is just 15 minutes from our house.  And I am feeling so great right now physically, it was just nice to know that it can only go up from where we’ve been the last 8 months!  I have done more physically in the last 4 days than I have in years!  Cycling, walking and boating!

Having received some very sad news from my friend this morning, that she has been diagnosed with cancer for the second time, I am reminded that God’s plan for us is for good and not for destruction.  “‘For I know the plans I have for you,’ says the LORD. ‘They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.'” (Jeremiah 29:11)
I remember reading those words last October and wondering about my future…what it would look like.   It is a struggle to fight the fear that wants to creep into our heads and imagine the worst.  So how do we get past this fear and trust God for those good things He has promised and the future we so desperately seek?

By Faith

 Hebrews 11:1 says: “Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.”

So, though I do not understand God and His ways, I must have faith that He is unfolding His plan just as it is suppose to be.

This faith is a gift, and one I can ask for if I struggle to have it inside. I daily need God’s gift of faith and to believe that my future and that of my dear friend are in His hands. He never brings anything our way that He will not walk through by our side.jboom017edited

One thought on “The Great Outdoors

  1. Koryn,

    I have kept up with your website all year, and the children in my class have prayed for you regulary. I wish we were still in school so I could share this latest thought with them. You have been so upbeat and so encouraging as you have gone through this walk. I thank God for your testimony, as I am sure it has helped many walking the same journey. Thank you for being so frank and honest with your emotions. Thank you for sharing our great God. With his help, we can go through anything and be victorious. May God continue to guide, direct, sustain, and lovingly wrap His arms around you as you finish this journey.

    Kay

Leave a Reply

