New Beginnings

Having cancer has taken many things from me beyond my control.  It has made me vulnerable and helpless at times.  spinning_class3Part of the fight in cancer is to regain something I CAN control, and decide what is right for me. 

I believe everything and every person God brings into my path, in this journey, is His divine intervention.  There are no mistakes with God!  A couple of months ago I met a dynamic woman through my kids’ high school.  She is an 18 month breast cancer survivor and a  shining example of strength and courage to me.  A powerhouse of energy and positive attitude,  I knew I immediately had to know her!  The more we talked about life beyond treatment, I learned from her and other survivors, that lifestyle changes must be made to remain cancer free.  No more free walk in the park, not exercising and eating whatever I wanted to! 

Every study I have read links diet and exercise to lower recurrences or development of all types of cancers.  Even though I have been fortunate to be able to maintian a healthy weight my whole life, and don’t struggle with high blood pressure or diabetes,  which run in my family, my greastest focus NOW is to never go through cancer treatment again.  Ever.  What better time than NOW to seize hold of something within my control while other issues are still out of reach for me (such as getting my hair to grow FASTER)!  I choose what to eat.  I choose where to spend my energies and I choose who I want to become. 

So today, along with my new friend,  bandana on my bald head, I tried a spin (cycling) class at the local gym and guess what?  The instructor is another breast cancer survivor, 8 months further ahead than me, and she has the same oncologist as I do! What are the odds of that?  As I sat on the bike at the back of the room, watching her at the front, with all her enthusiasm and zest for life, tears filled my eyes as I could see light at the end of this dark tunnel of treatment.  I saw that I can raise my head high and smile.  I saw that I can have the body I want to have, or at least one better than what I have now, and that strength will come through hard work.  I have never been one for sweat, in fact I hate exercising, not to mention PAIN!  This would be a very big step for me to take on a lifestyle change like this.  Even two or three times a week of walking around the block would be a huge milestone for me, especially if its hot outside!  But I have to start somewhere, and meeting these two women is like an ah-ha moment for me.  A motivation for change and a new beginning.  Like two angels leading the way, that God placed right in my path when I needed direction.

I’m sure I’ll be barely able to walk tomorrow when I wake up, but in time I hope to feel better and love the body God has given me, glad to be alive.

4 thoughts on “New Beginnings

  1. Cycle on…what a great story and encouragment to me!! It is amazing where God can lead you when you are available to follow!

  2. You’re doing good sista!!! I’m very proud of you. You’re going to be amazing!!! It’s already began. I’m so happy I know you. God has such great plans for us in this life. I can’t wait for each new day. Drive your own train. You’re special now. One of the chosen people. We’re going to grow old. OMG And before Laura and I are finished with you, you’re going to long for that sweat. LOL

  3. God’s timing and placement of people is evidence of his supreme soverernity. Isn’t it great when we see that? You will probably inspire me to exercise as well–right now I’m excercising by looking at fitness magazines 🙂

Leave a Reply

