A light at the end?

il_430xn_58893748Today is 3 days post chemo and I began feeling the effects yesterday afternoon again.  Headaches, nausea, fatigue, dizziness….just an overall feeling like something isn’t right.  The headache was pretty severe so I went ahead and took the heavy duty drug to combat that, Dilaudid, a morphine darivetive.  Of course that makes me a  zombie on the couch. I keep holding onto the hope that there is a light at the end of these treatments, the day when they will all be behind me.

I managed to do my all day bone scan appointment at Walter Reed, which began with the 7:30 a.m.drive and arrived home at 3 p.m. My friend, Walli, took me to help pass the time.  I had to be injected with a radioactive die in my hand, then waste time in the hospital (not allowed to leave) for 3 hours, all the while drinking a gallon of water.  It’s a good thing I couldn’t leave the hospital because I needed a bathroom every five minutes!  We went to visit my nurse friends in the breast care center, chatted in the cafeteria, got some lunch – all in all, the time went quickly.  Once it was time for my scan, they strapped me in, wheeled me into the quiet tunnel and I drifted off to sleep.

The new anti-nausea medication seems to be working a bit better and lasts much longer.  Food has once again began to have a nasty taste. (All except those thin mint Girl Scout cookies! Ha!)  I crave water and lots of it.  The back ache has started today as my white blood cells try to climb back.  No Tylenol, however, due to the enlarged, irritated liver and we are still waiting on the hepatitis results.  My sons are home from college but I barely have the energy to visit with them.  I tend to disengage here for about the next week or so while feeling sick and tired.  That makes me sad for them to see me like this because they haven’t been here the last 2 months and seen my  “good days”.

Thank you Christine and Deanna for the dinners these last couple of days! What a welcome treat! My family is so grateful.

Isaiah 40:31
But they that wait upon the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint

Leave a Reply

