What Does It Feel Like To Fight Cancer?

Today is Thursday and it’s been a good week of feeling totally normal, doing all my normal everyday 0021activities, and catching up on things like laundry and housework.  I have been a little more tired than usual but have taken short naps to energize myself.  Getting use to wearing a wig and hats is a challenge, especially on a very blustery day like today!  Somehow I just can’t shake the idea of that shaven head underneath it all, but I’ve managed to fool a couple of friends who didn’t know I had lost my hair 😉   I guess I look more natural than I feel.  Actually it is kind of fun going from short hair to long hair all in the same day, if I feel like it ! I enjoyed a night of bunco with friends, and felt very comfortable in their company.  It felt good to laugh and share 003with each other all the things going on in our lives.   There’s a level of comfort knowing that life continues to unfold, kids have their up and down days of school, and we gather at the dinner table to bond as a family.   Friends get pregnant and share their happy news, others talk of upcoming vacation plans.  This is what it feels like to fight cancer….to know that no matter what, it won’t consume our conversations and our daily activities, and that taking pleasure in the things we enjoy is like saying “You can’t beat me down, Cancer!”  I have taken and filled several jewelry orders this week and have felt great about resuming my business (as I am able).  It is a wonderful opportunity to work from home but to know that I can “put on the brakes”  if I have to.  I feel incredibly blessed by notes of encouragement via e-mail or in the mailbox, flowers delivered, meals brought by, or just a phone call to say how are you feeling?  I am surrounded by an army of supportive friends and family who are helping me get through this fight.  It is a fight sometimes to resist the emotions of sadness, pity or anger, but my army “says” press on – you are strong”!

Romans 8 :35, 37

Who shall separate us from the love of Christ?  Shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or danger, or sword?    No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through Christ who loved us.”

9 thoughts on “What Does It Feel Like To Fight Cancer?

  1. you look adorable in ALL your new looks! what fun!

    still just wearing scarves here. while you are freezing, we’re experiencing highs in the 80’s at the beach.

    crazy!

    need to check on my wig status…..just not stressing over it anymore. the scarves are comfy!

    my little one hates seeing my bald head….so need to stay covered up for her comfort. she’ll adjust eventually!

  2. I’ve been thinking of you……..still recovering from my 1st chemo, so I’ll write more later…….I love your wig……it looks so natural!! God bless!
    Gretta

  3. Koryn…..you look great in your “new” looks! I can relate to the cold windy days……too many to count!
    Boy, you are such a strong woman and you are going to win this battle! When I read your blog it is so inspiring and I can’t help but have my spirits lifted at the same time. You go girl and you fight the fight and come out on top!
    Wish I could be there….I know that you have many friends and family who are there to support you and help you out. That is such a blessing…for YOU and your FAMILY. 🙂
    Keep on going strong!
    Love Rochelle

  4. Koryn — Everyday I look forward to checking your blog to see how you are feeling, looking, if you are up, down, sad, happy. I don’t know how to describe this, but I feel like I am living a part of this with you.
    So… today I decided that you should really consider writing a book about this experience in your life. You have a beautiful God given talent for writing and I think that you could help a lot of women who have or will be facing breast cancer. I hope that you are keeping every word that you write – and some day soon – when the treatments are in your past – you will consider binding your words together to help others that are facing this same battle.
    I’m sure that others have suggested this to you, but if they haven’t – I want the first signed copy of your book!!!!!
    Have fun with those wigs, you look radiant……… Hugs, Patty

  5. Koryn,

    You look so beautiful!!! I am so proud of you (and thankful) for your willingness to share your journey with all of us. When I saw your picture of all your pony tails and your hands over your face getting ready to cut them all, it just took my breath away. I KNOW how hard that was for you! But you are a courageous woman, your men are AWESOME, and you look radiant in your new looks 🙂 We continue to pray daily for you!

    Much love, Cheryl

  6. Hey Koryn,
    Still reading along with you… you look GREAT and you can pull off long or short hair!! Glad you are feeling well and are up to working a little bit! Praise be to God!!
    Christy

  7. You look amazing! I thought the first one was a pre-chemo shot till I read your post. I have your blog on my Google Reader so I know when you’ve updated, and I always look to see how you are doing. It’s wonderful to read about the love that surrounds you, and your positive words. May the Lord help you keep those UP days coming, and the DOWN days to a minimum xx

Leave a Reply

