A New Year Dawns! 2009

il_430xn_30055373 The New Year came, and I slept right through it!  The chemo effects really took their toll about Wednesday afternoon, with me barely being able to move or stay awake.  It came on like a ton of bricks, totally unexpected to start this early (I was told I would have a good week somewhere in here) .  Tim and I went to see the movie Marley & Me at 1 p.m. , but it was all I could do to stay awake, taking sips of drinks every few seconds just to make it through.  I didn’t even have the energy to cry at the sad ending, which is pretty remarkable considering we had that same sadness when we lost Sandy, our dog, a little over a year ago.  I just felt numb.  I could hardly make it through the 20 minutes in Costco picking up food for Kelli’s party and at one point just sat down in the store on a freezer ledge and waited for Tim to return with something.  I had chills, then was hot, then nauseous, then in pain…no fun!  And so sleepy.  I felt “fluish” sort of, I guess, is the best way to describe it, and slept from about 7 p.m. until after 1 a.m.  I think  Tim kissed me Happy New Year, but I don’t remember the all the kids yelling and the hoopla of the party here at our house with 20 of Kelli’s friends.  I think I ate some soup or something somewhere in there, it’s just a blur now.  Woke up feeling a bit better today – still have a headache and a little pain in my arm where the port site is.  Looks like I’ll be spending most of my day on the couch since sitting or laying is the only place I don’t feel sick to my stomach.  Tim will have the pleasure of putting all of the Christmas decorations away  this weekend, putting away the outdoor lights, diassembling the tree with the kids, and watching some football in between.   My white blood cell count is due to drop here in the next 4 days so I will be cooped up & away from anyone who might infect me with any sort of bug, flu, pneumonia, cough, etc.  No kids, no sniffles, no shopping, so theaters, no travel, no church, no nothin’!   I hope that by next week I might feel a bit better.  I can’t imagine 4 months of this!   Thanks for your prayers for strength and words of encouragement and offers of help!   They mean so much. God bless you with a renewed sense of  His presence in your own life this New Year, and may you seek His will in everything you determine to pursue!

4 thoughts on “A New Year Dawns! 2009

  1. Koryn,

    You were the first thing on my mind this morning. I woke up way earlier than I intended to since I stayed up way past my bedtime last night. But the Lord brought you to mind, and I laid in bed and prayed for you first thing. I hope you have a good, restful day today. May the Lord strengthen and encourage you!

    Love in Christ, Cheryl

  2. Here’s wishing you all the best for 2009 and to success with the chemo. Take it easy – let those who love you take care of you and keep your strength for when you need it. God bless.

  3. hi koryn—i have been reading of your journey and want to add my prayers and good wishes to those from your ‘three D’ friends—-my friend who had chemo also said it felt like she had the flu,but there were definitely a few good weeks that came after the initial shock of the first week—i am so sorry that you have to go through this but it sounds like you have fantastic friends and a wonderful family. The friend who just had a radical mastectomy before Christmas is getting geared up for Chemo and I hope you don’t mind if i recommend your site to her—i think she might like the youtube readings from Kelly Corrigan as well. Take Care!! marianne from canada

  4. I hope you’re feeling better today!

    Today is day 11 of the first cycle for me and I’m very happy to report that I feel NORMAL! woohoo!

    You’ll be back to normal soon too!

Leave a Reply

