Are you listening?

whyfor On three separate days this week, I have been out and about, doing Christmas shopping,running errands and such…like we all do…and on three different days I saw  license plates that have “spoken” to me.  Remember when I told you that back in September that I saw two bumper stickers two days after my biopsy, one that said “Do Not Fear” and another that said “God Will Provide All You Need”?    Well, it was that very day when I needed those words, and I was convinced God was trying to get through to me.  This week the messages were on cars (I wish I’d taken photos) as follows:

PRAYMOR

GR8FUL

B-HMBLE

Whoa!  It’s as if God can just reach down and come into our  busy Chrismassy – crazy lives and speak to us right where we are even if we aren’t making enough time for Him!  I know I fret more than I pray and He is telling me I need to stop the worrying and start asking Him for what I need (I worry about chemo starting on time so I can finish in time to get to my parent’s anniversary party in mid May and I worry about losing my hair and how that will make me feel).  I need to stop my pity party (much as I feel I’m entitled somedays) and start being thankful for everything He has done and is doing in my life, and to count all that I have as blessings from Him.  Then I need to remember that He is God, and of all He asks of us is quite simple :  Micah 6:8 in The Bible says it all –

“He has shown you, O man, what is good. 
And what does the LORD require of you?
       To act justly and to love mercy
       and to walk humbly with your God.”

These three messages were ones I needed to hear this week, and it just so happened I was looking and listening.   Look around you while you get through this final week before Christmas and see if God has a message for you too – are YOU listening?

One thought on “Are you listening?

  1. Hi there. Just found your blog after buying something from your etsy, and first of all I was so touched that you should find the time to post the present to my friend with what you are going through. And THEN I read on my feed (but can’t find on your blog) about the tragedy that has touched your son’s friend and family. My heart goes out to the people concerned, and hugs to you too, during this terrible time. God bless xxx

Leave a Reply

