I’m Free As A Bird!

birdcageI finally got my plumbing system removed today after more than 6 weeks! Yeah!  It is so freeing not to be bound my tubes and hoses and pouches at the waist, not to mention the constant record keeping for the doctors.  My lymph node incision site is not healing, though, so they have postponed my chemo therapy to December 29th.  That is fine with me, since it will actually give me an extra week to get ready for Christmas, and I don’t care so much about being laid up for New Years Eve….a few glasses of champagne on that night usually would put me under the table anyways, so it won’t really be much different!   🙂 Now we can relax for a couple of weeks, have no doctors visits all next week (wow!)  and the boys will be home from college beginning Tuesday next week….glad they can have me as my cheery self a little longer.   That’s not to say I don’t still have my “moments”.  The reality of it all still sometimes comes to bear on my shoulders and I can’t hold back the tears.  God bless the ones who get me through, like friends and neighbors who do just the right things at just the right time.  Thank you so much.  And the prayers must be what carry me through most days-so be sure and keep those up! Here’s an original song whose words touched me today – click the arrow – and by the way notice the NEW link at the  top “Prior Posts” to look up previous postings going back to the end of summer

One thought on “I’m Free As A Bird!

  1. Hi Koryn,

    So glad to hear that you finally got those pesky drains out! Whew!

    We just might end up with a very similar chemo schedule. I see the oncologist on Wed 12/17 to come up with my plan. I was originally slated to start chemo around 12/19 but I don’t think they’ll be able to figure it all out so soon.

    So….a very merry christmas to us and our families….we’ll still have hair for our photos, etc!

    I bet you can’t wait to see your boys!!! Enjoy!

    Love,
    Lisa

Leave a Reply

