The clock is ticking…

th_portable-time-clockChristmas Day is less than a month away, and chemo is coming in even less time!  18 days left!  I feel like I’m being crunched into a time machine, with much to do in too little time!  People in the stores are running around like maniacs, shopping for THINGS and stressing about things that are really and truly meaningless.  (If they only knew).  I don’t want to be like that.  My list is short this year, both in things to do and and in things to want.  Keep it simple.  That’s what I want. 

 I am already trying to think ahead to the week of chemo and what I might feel like, trying to plan to already have all of Christmas DONE (decorating, baking, cards, entertaining) and out of the way.  I also want to be proactive about my hair loss, and schedule a get together with my girlfriends to be by my side as I rope it all off, cut it, then shave the rest.  If I don’t do this, I could wake up one morning and find it all over my pillow, or falling out down the shower drain and that would be very traumatic for me.  This is one way I can take back some control. I am donating it to an organization that makes real hair wigs for children <—click .  I’m sure some little girl would be thrilled to have a long hair wig!  It is 15 inches at its longest places!  It will take me at least 5 years to get all of that length back.  It took me 3 years to grow my bangs from their 4 inches to the  12 inches they are now!  I try not to think about it.  It’s all about becomming a new “me”, inside and out. 

This week I go back to the plastic surgeon and also expect to finally have my drain removed.  I dread it hurting, since it has been in there for 5 weeks.  I also meet the following day with the surgical clinic that will be installing the port under the skin, mainly for an informational consultation. 

Today is our 22nd wedding anniversary! We have a lot to celebrate! Four wonderful kids, and a full and blessed life, and much to look forward to!

Hope you had a Happy Thanksgiving and that all your Christmas lights that you pull from the attic, plug in and turn on with no burned out bulbs! 🙂    th_thanimatedchristmastree

2 thoughts on “The clock is ticking…

  1. you have such a GREAT attitude about this and you inspire me!

    i love the last line in your post re: the holiday lights LOL!

    hugs,
    lisa

Leave a Reply

