Good Days & Bad Days

wecandoitI am two weeks past surgery, and though I feel like I should be feeling a whole lot better by now,I am on morphine and muscle relaxers round the clock.  I’m still in a fair amount of pain.  I am limited as to what I can do each day.  Most days I just lay around on the couch or sit at the computer.  (Like playing around with graphics I like to  create like this) one shown here—->

Yesterday I had another doctor’s appointment, and the good news is there are no infections but I am still having pain at the lymph node biopsy site with fluid build up.  The doctor believes that should begin to subside this week.  I saw the plastic surgeon and he always seems to brighten up things when I feel down.  A great sense of humor is  a must for a doctor in this field! I have a referral to get a second opinion at Bethesda’s National  Naval Medical Center Oncology department, so after next week’s consult with the Walter Reed oncologist I will meet with Bethesda’s.  It will still be another few weeks before that treatment begins. 

My parents left Monday this week, and I hit an all time low the next day.  I felt like I could not even get up off the couch.  I don’t know if I had  a virus, or just an extreme case of the blues, but I slept and cried most of the day.  Our trip to the doctor the next day, my dear sweet neighbor, Deb,  drove me a different route, through beautiful Rock Creek Park in Washinton D.C., which saved us 25 minutes and loads of traffic stress!  (Tim met us there on the metro train from his work.)  Wish I had started driving  this way weeks ago!  It will now be our new route to Walter Reed Army Medical center, for which there will be many trips!  The serene beauty there is a nice  change to the beltway nightmare! We actually drive right over this rock bridge!rocr_rapids375x180 Who knew such a beautiful place existed right outside D.C?

 

 

Today I finished making my medical alert bracelet for a condition I may experience called Lymphedema. It is  due to the lymph node removal I  had during surgery.  I cannot have blood drawn or blood pressure taken on my right arm for the rest of my life.  I am currently working on 4 other bracelets for my Bosom Buddy sisters who have all had or will have their surgeries this fall.  If found unconscious, it would be very helpful to an EMS or paramedic.  So anyways, these and other cancer awareness items I am adding gradually to a new site i opened Bosom Buddies , (and that’s keeping me busy too, while my jewelry business is sort of on “hold” status). It’s also a way I want to give back to a charity that supports breast cancer through my sales there.

Each day now, I am reading through a book called Simple Abundance by Sarah Ban Breathnach.  On the very day received this book from my  friend, Betty, the quote for that day said this:   Amazing Grace 

“Grace fills empty  spaces, but it can only enter where there is a void to receive it, and it is grace itself which makes this void .”  – Simone Weil

Maybe God Himself wants to fill us with His grace.  He allows the voids so He can do that for us! I know I’m feeling the need for more of His grace each and every day. Your prayers for pain relief are much appreciated.

Thank you to everyone who has so generously given of your love ♥ in so many tangible ways to our family. We, again, feel very blessed. ♥

3 thoughts on “Good Days & Bad Days

  1. I’m proud to be a bosom buddy 🙂
    where do you find the time for another etsy shop? you are amazing….really!

    I feel the blues too….but chin up girl friend…radiation is ahead for me and chemo is ahead for you and we need our positive mental attitudes to get us through…and the Lord is always by our sides! hugs, Jodi

  2. Good news about no infection! Stay storng my friend! You have a lot of people praying for you and you will get through this! YOU CAN DOIT!!! Love ya!
    Gentle HUGS!
    Claire

Leave a Reply

