Back to the hospital…

th_bandaidLast night it had become quite evident that my pain had increased more recently, and the morphine wasn’t helping.  Taking a closer look, a baseball sized cyst of fluid had built up under my arm pit at the lymph node biopsy site. Pain had begun to radiate down the underside of my arm.  When they had to remove the drainage tube last week because it had become clogged, they knew this was a possibility since the fluid would now have no place to go.  The doctor had hoped it might resolve itself, but no such luck.  th_sad_dog_face

I called the doctor first thing this morning and he said to come in right away.  So off I went with my friend Carin driving in 1 1/2  hours of Monday morning traffic (I can’t drive while on narcotics), and thankfully he took me in as soon as we arrived.  He was able to drain the fluid and instructed me how to care for the now somewhat open wound there.   I went from feeling like a baseball under my arm pit to a brick of thick gauze bandages under there!  Oh the joy!  I return Wednesday this week to see the plastic surgeon again.  I think I deserve a personal single traffic lane all my own on highway 495, better known as the D.C. Beltway!

2 thoughts on “Back to the hospital…

  1. Hi, Koryn–
    I found you this summer on Etsy–just surfing in to say hello and send you warmest wishes for a comfortable and speedy recovery–I hope things are lots better this afternoon. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family.

    A hug from Houston,
    Robyn

Leave a Reply

