Are you talking to me God?

As we were driving home from church today, we passed by this sign on the side of the road.  I remembered that our Bible study leader said a couple of weeks ago that our attitude (our “mood”, if you will) is all determined by a single thought.  From there flows the attitudes of our heart and mind.  We can choose to listen to the negative, self defeating messages barreling at us, or we can speak God’s truths to ourselves and change our whole perspective.  Things like “I am valuable”, “God cares about me”, “God wants to use me”, “”He will never leave me or forsake me”, these words are shaping my view of my current circumstances and helping me stay positive and looking UP!  Funny how God speaks to us even as we’re driving down the road.  On September 10th I had to take my dog to the vet clinic.  I had just had my first core needle biopsy two days before that and was understandably pretty nervous and anxious.  There in the parking lot as I was pulling out of my parking spot, I glanced at the bumper of the car parked next to me.  On it was a sticker that read “Do Not Fear” and  a cross next to the words.  Hmmmm…was God talking to me?  Then as I pulled out onto the main road, a big truck got in front of me.  Plastered across the back were these words – “God Will Supply Everything You Need”.  I then had no doubt that reaching down from Heaven to my little finite world was the creator of the universe speaking to my soul and comforting me and instructing me.  I hadn’t at that point gone searching the Bible for peace…I was still wandering around feeling sorry for myself and full of anxiety.  But God reached out to me and spoke to me right where I was.  Again today I was reminded that His hand in in my life and through the words of others and through His words in The Bible and elsewhere He wants to communicate His love to me. 

3 thoughts on “Are you talking to me God?

  1. Thinking of you and praying for you, your family and the team of doctors.

    Blessed by His Kindness, Mercy and Grace,
    Debbie

  2. wow that’s freaky…wish i would see words like that more often…i’m going to search for those to see how much they cost…?
    i’ll let you know if i find them

Leave a Reply

