Biopsy #2 Update – Oct. 14

Just wanted to update and let you now what happened today.  I had a core needle MRi guided biopsy of the other side of the breast and they took 15 (count ’em) FIFTEEN samples to send off to the lab.  The procedure took two hours under only local anesthetic.  They are expiditing them so we can get results back Thursday or Friday.  We went up to the breast care center and got the forms to proceed with genetic testing but won’t follow through on that until a few weeks from now.  This was just the preliminary paperwork.  This will test the BRACA1 and BRACA2 gene presence, a genetic, family-passed breast cancer gene.  Tim and I then went to talk to the surgeon and look at last week’s MRI images and ask him a page worth of quetions we had.  He never rushes us and always makes time for us no matter how long that takes.  He is really good to us, in fact the whole staff is so caring.  With my head down and unable to watch anything during the biopsy a nurse gently rubed my back and whispered near my ear “How are you doing?  Not much longer…one more…” Etc. She was like an angel sent from Heaven on a very rough day.  I guess such a procedure shakes up the nervous system, especially being awake and aware during the whole thing but unable to see anything…I was cold and shaking afterwards but after some Tylenol and a drink and deep breath I felt better.  Right now we wait.  If results come back showing malignancy, then surgery will be postponed until a day this month when plastic surgery AND the surgeon can be in the O.R. together to perform mastectomy & sentinal lymph node biopsy.  If they come back benign, then surgery will still be this coming Monday the 20th and will be a double lumpectomy (both the site we know to be cancerous and the site that they biopsied today) and Sentinal Lymph Node biopsy surgery.  Hope that’s not too much information for you, but now you know.  I appreciate your continued prayers and e-mails.  I feel God’s mercy in little things and know that He is using your prayers to help me through so keep it up!     Psalm 94:18
When I said,  “My foot is slipping,” your love, O LORD, supported me.
When anxiety was great within me, your consolation brought joy to my soul.

One thought on “Biopsy #2 Update – Oct. 14

  1. 15 samples! wow! no wonder you were a little shaky! i hope and pray that they are ALL benign!

    i was just thinking of you and wanted to check it. i hope today was a good day 🙂

    lisa

Leave a Reply

