The Big Day

Today’s the biopsy. (*Evening Update below) I thought this day would never come. I’m just glad it’s here and I’m ready. I really do feel mentally ready for whatever comes. We went to a couples Bible study last night for the first time in 10 years. One of the things my friend said to me is that God uses pain in our lives to reach others for Himself. I never thought of it that way, I guess. I always just thought of suffering and pain as the curse from the “fall” of mankind, and that it was just our lot in life to experience pain from time to time. That God would use it to produce long suffering or patience in us. He does those things too, but I realized that God has spoken to me through the hardships I’ve seen others face and it is through their faith I have become stronger. So whatever the outcome today, my prayer will be, God use me. Interestingly enough we are reading a book called “Don’t Waste Your Life” by John Piper. I haven’t read the book yet, but I really like the title. When you get to my age (45 next month-yikes!) you start to realize that you’re half way there (okay, well, I sort of think of it that way since my grandparents lived to 87 and 91). One grandma is 96 and still alive so I might be blessed with a few extra years on this earth. At any rate, you start to get serious about really living life and not letting a day go by that you don’t do what you were placed here to do. Now I feel serious about discovering that purpose and living it out each and every day.

I hope to know something by the end of this week. I pray the answer comes quickly.

UPDATE* The biopsy went well. They got 5 good cross sections of the mass as well as aspirated a nearby complex cyst. Pain was minimal and soreness this afternoon tollerable. I have an appiontment for results scheduled next Monday. It’s gonna be a l-o-n-g week.

This song is by Matt Redman:

Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
Your perfect love is casting out fear.
And Even when I’m caught in the middle of the storms of this life,
I won’t turn back, I know You are near.

And I will fear no evil
For My God is with me
And if my God is with me
Whom then shall I fear?
Whom then shall I fear?

Oh no, You never let go
Through the calm and through the storm
Oh no, You never let go
In every high and every low
Oh no, you never let go
Lord, you never let go of me.

2 thoughts on “The Big Day

  1. I wish to reach out and hold your hand, close our eyes and recite the Our Father with you…
    I hope you feel my energy surrounding you, like a long distance hug.

    He will never let you go, never…
    interestingly, i posted a similar topic today on not wasting time on earth.

    one day at a time, Jodi

Leave a Reply

