What They Didn’t Tell Me…

Yesterday I had gone to pick up a prescription for my daughter at our clinic.  The pharmacy had a long wait, so I decided that while I was there I would request a copy of my radiology tests from August 19.  After all, I had never actually looked at them myself, only at the letter sent to me by the department.  Not the radiologists exact word, or findings.  The nurse apologized that it had printed out every single test I had in the last 2 years, but I told her that was okay, and I had a long time to wait and read anyways.  I flipped back about 17 months to when I had first had my right breast ultrasounded for a nodule I felt (and still feel) on the side.   That, they said, was not detected on the images.  “However”, it said, “an incidental mass was seen behind the aeroela on the right breast.” WHAT?  Nothing was EVER said to me at the exam or afterwards and no letter was ever sent to me….it was as if someone just overlooked that and put my file away to be forgotten…until now…17 months later.  Had I known then that those comments were in there, I probably would have questioned it and pursued finding out what this  was at that early stage.  Now it is a quarter size mass behind the aereola on that breast and I am furious and yet have nobody to be angry with.  I guess it’s like many people are telling me, TAKE CHARGE OF YOUR OWN HEALTH CARE.  If you get a test, ask to see the written results for yourself.  You are entitled to them.  Don’t hope that they notify you of something concerning.  They might not.  They see a lot of patients.  They get a lot of paperwork.  It’s your test, your body, your decisions.  Three more days. 

Wouldn’t ya know I slipped on the stairs yestedrday carrying a large load of laundry and talking on the phone at the same time and boom!  I landed right on my right breast onto the wooden knobby top at the end of the bannister. OUCH! I guess I’m gonna be in pain Monday anyways so I might as well get use to it, right?

Well, another thing to take this off my mind came in the form of a phone call this evening…my best friend has been diagnosed with malignant melanoma.  The words hit like a brick, don’t they?  I just can’t believe it.  Nobody was expecting this one.  Not even her!  My concerns seem like a distant echo compared to those blaring words of confirmation for her.  Friends need each other at these times.  My thoughts have suddenly turned to someone other than myself , which is a good thing.  I am hopeful for her. 

‘Til then…

2 thoughts on “What They Didn’t Tell Me…

  1. As a society we learn to be apathetic with healthcare…and as women and moms we get so busy with life and caring for others that it’s easy to trust the experts…

    I feel those same feelings…knowing it was in my body for 6-10 years is tough to swallow…but what will sueing someone get us? more time with our families?

    {{{hugs}}} I think of you daily and own you a letter properly thanking you for your gift.

    I wish all this wasn’t happening…but I have to believe it’s a gift from God…bringing us to a better place for ourselves and for our children.

    Peace be with you this weekend while you wait for monday~
    Jodi

  2. I GOT AN EMAIL FROM GLORIA SANFILIPPO ABOUT A SITE TO GO TO FOR MAMMOGRAMS. I KNOW GLORIA FROM THE MILITARY. WE WERE STATIONED TOGETHER IN GERMANY. I AM ALSO A BREAST CANCER SURVIVOR. DIAGNOSED IN MAY 06. HAD A MASTECTOMY, CHEMO, RADIATION, HERCEPTIN AND AM NOW ON AN ORAL MEDS FOR 5 YEARS.

    IF YOU EVER WANT TO TALK PLEASE GIVE ME A SHOUT. I AM A NURSE TOO SO HAVE AN INTERESTING INSIGHT AS A MED CARE GIVER AND A PATIENT.

    LOVE TO TALK ANYTIME, BY EMAIL OR PHONE. WE ARE IN OKLAHOMA PRESENTLY. MY NUMBER IS 405-341-7771. CALL ANYTIME SINCE I’M A STAY AT HOME MOM WITH 3 BOYS!
    I CALLED PEOPLE WHO I DIDN’T KNOW WHEN I WAS DIAGNOSED AND WAS AMAZED AT THE SHARING THAT CAN GO ON. PLEASE CALL IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO–ANOTHER SISTER IN THIS FIGHT, ON YOUR SIDE, IS NEVER A BAD THING.

    GOD BLESS,
    KELLY FREDERICK

Leave a Reply

