BETTER THAN BEING CARDED! the thrill of youth

At age 44, I feel somedays like my life is just about half over. Another 45 years or so and I could expect to be gone. I don’t dwell on it, but it is a fact. I won’t be hanging around forever! Yesterday I took my son to a doctor’s appointment. He is 18 (yes he could have gone by himself), but this was a dermatologist and the office was quite a distance from where we live and he didn’t ask me to come but he did give me that look, like, ‘Okay Mom, if you want to, but please do, because I don’t have a clue where I’m going.’ A pesky case of excema, nothing too serious. Well, the doctor sitting across the desk from us turned to me and said, “And, you’re the sister?” HA! I nearly broke out into laughter! I wanted to kiss her! She was absolutely serious! She was probably about my age. She said she had a 16 year old son. I told her that, no, I didn’t “start having kids early”, and that I would be 45 this year. I think she was cringing inside. She had clearly let her weight get out of control, and I’m guessing she didn’t believe in make up, being a dermatologist and all. I’m just guessing here. At any rate, I swelled with pride wishing my husband could have been there. He got carded at the basketball stadium a few weeks ago when I was with him. The following week he took our sons to a game and DIDN’T get carded! When he came home he told me that he thinks they only card him when we’re together because they think he’s buying for his young girlfriend! Double Ha! This was better than that. This was a doctor who should know just by looking at a person what their real age is. She is an expert and so I am taking her estimations of me 100% and I’m not looking back! I am the sister.
Leave a Reply

